Check, Check, and Check

Well, I am finally making my way to a updated post. We have new back doors, painted porch steps, vinyl boxing on the outside trim, and sheet rock went up in the master closet! I wish I could say way more things have been checked off the 39,480,394,820 to- do list but I will take what I can get. Check out what Heath and I have been up to this past month!

Facet and Sopphets basically just fancy terms for the outer trim. In the first picture we have the original wooden trim, which was all either peeling paint or rotted out. So, instead of having the trim painted over we had it wrapped in vinyl and we will never have to worry about peeling paint again.

DSCN0833DSCN0841

The master bedroom originally had two small closets separated by a little hallway. We tore down the walls here and made it one big walk in closet. In case you were wondering the walls are plaster and are not fun to tear down, it makes a gigantic mess. These are the only walls we are moving in the house, thank goodness I love the rest of the layout!

IMG_0733 2DSCN0845

Once we had the walls down Heath put insulation all around, before installing the sheet rock.DSCN0876

The floors were damaged in this section of the bedroom so we ripped them up and Heath laid down the new unfinished floors extending them all the way into the walk in closet. Once these floors are sanded down and stained you will never know.

DSCN0879Who remembers the Laundry/ Mud Room?! I know some of you out there will be disappointed at what I have done to this paneling, because in its day this was high dollar finishes, sorry not sorry!  I love paneling but not the way it was, so I have been busy priming this sucker and let me tell you it was not fun, very much a labor of love. 

DSCN0661

Three coats of primer later…(Check out the new door.)

DSCN0880

I used a concrete paint from Behr and gave the front and back steps a much cleaner and modern look. Can not wait for a new front door!

IMG_1073

DSCN0891

I missed the ball on this one and forgot to take before pictures of the back doors, but this is when we were having the windows installed and you can get the idea. They were wooden and peeling lead paint so they were a must go.DSCN0728DSCN0898

DSCN0896DSCN0894

Last, but not least a little side project Heath did for me. I was watching my new obsession Fixer Upper on HGTV and saw Joanna Gaines adding slated wood above a fireplace. Heath had some wood taken out of a old barn that he has been wanting to repurpose so you can imagine the wheels turning as soon as I saw it, I knew we had to do it. Not only was it easy to install but it is going to give some dimension to our TV, so it is not just hanging out.

IMG_7445x1Inspiration photo courtesy of Magnolia Homes (more commonly known as Fixer Upper.)

Our version! It will be painted the same color as the fireplace, we haven’t reached those finishing details yet. 

DSCN0848

Until next time! xo

Published by restorationmain

My name is Danielle and it has been my dream to restore old homes to their former glory with modern style for everyday living. So follow me as we make this old house a home for families (including my own) to live and love for many years to come.

3 thoughts on “Check, Check, and Check

  1. TOO COOL. You guys are doing great work. I need you and Heath to come and tear out and replace Ms. Beth’s kitchen cabinets.

  2. Hey your guys are doing a great job!! Wish I was closer Danielle we could have fun shopping and decorating together. I too enjoy the show Fixer Upper. Did not know Heath was such the handy man, would love to have him close to my house . So proud of you both and know u are having fun creating a beautiful home to enjoy for years to come.

Leave a comment